HyreGarage

Research study

Garage door replacement cost, with sources

Every cost figure you see comes from one of two sources. Neither records what anyone paid, and they disagree by forty index points.

Updated September 2026 · Data as of Cost vs. Value 2019-2025 editions and BLS series PCU3323213323211, retrieved 2026-09-06

Written by HyreGarage Research Desk Primary-source research and data analysis

Audited by HyreGarage Research Desk Citation, computation and retrieval-date audit

None datasets record what Americans actually pay for an installed garage door No federal, transaction or survey source records installed prices.
+29.4% vs +69.0% modeled job cost against producer prices for the door, 2019–2025 HyreGarage computation from Cost vs. Value and BLS PPI.
8 line items a quote has to state before you can compare it with another HyreGarage specification, not a price list.

The finding

No dataset records what Americans pay to replace a garage door. The most quoted figure, $4,672 for 2025 from the Cost vs. Value report, is a model built from price indexes, not an average of invoices. Our check shows it rose 29.4% from 2019 to 2025, while BLS producer prices for metal doors rose 69.0%.

What did we find?

There is no dataset of what Americans pay for a garage door replacement. No federal price series covers an installed door, and no public dataset of sales exists. Every confident figure traces to one of two sources. Neither is a record of prices paid.

The first is the Cost vs. Value report’s job cost: $4,672 for 2025. It is not an average of invoices. The report’s own method builds it from BLS and BEA price indexes, set to a 2019 baseline, plus BLS installer wage data.

The second is the BLS producer price index (PPI), which measures something else. Series PCU3323213323211 covers “Metal doors (except storm doors)” at the factory. It is real and measured, but it has no installation, hardware, removal or labor in it.

Side by side, they disagree badly. We computed both. The modeled job cost rose 29.4 percent from 2019 to 2025. Producer prices rose 69.0 percent over the same years. Two explanations fit that forty-point gap, and we cannot say which is right.

So this page gives you no price. It gives you the parts of the job, so that three quotes become comparable.

What this page does not do

The garage door replacement cost study carries no cost figure, on purpose. Here is why.

We publish no price for a garage door.

No national average, no range, no per-square-foot figure. We could not find one that records prices paid. Making up a plausible-looking range is exactly what this research desk exists not to do.

The $4,672 is a model output, not an average of invoices.

Cost vs. Value builds it from BLS and BEA price indexes set to a 2019 baseline, with local variation from a commercial estimating product. That is a fair method, but it does not measure real sales.

The PPI is a factory price.

It covers what manufacturers charge for metal doors. It has no installation, hardware, removal or labor in it. Never quote it as a garage door replacement cost. Our garage door price index study covers its full history.

We could not get BLS wage tables.

bls.gov data files returned HTTP 403 to our environment, so there is no labor-rate analysis here. The federal job classification also has no garage-door-specific occupation, which would limit such an analysis anyway.

We could not get regional cost figures.

Cost vs. Value publishes breakdowns for 119 markets and nine regions. The archived copies we could reach had the national table only, so nothing regional appears here.

A national figure describes no real job.

Door build, spring rating, wind rating, track type and access vary hugely between two houses on the same street. The useful number is on your three quotes, not in the report.

Why does nobody know what a garage door costs?

Because no one records the sale. Garage door pricing looks like a solved question: a large, common, standard purchase, with confident cost figures everywhere. We went looking for the data underneath, and there is none.

There is no federal price series for an installed garage door. The BLS producer price program covers the product at the factory. The consumer price index covers much broader categories. Neither measures what a homeowner pays a contractor.

There is no public dataset of sales. Home improvement purchases are not registered anywhere. A house sale leaves a public record. A garage door replacement leaves no trace outside the two parties, except sometimes a building permit. That permit records a declared valuation, not a price.

No household survey asks either. The American Housing Survey covers a great deal about what is in American homes. It has no garage door item at all, as we found separately.

HyreGarage analysis: into that gap step two sources that measure nearby things well. They get quoted as if they measured the thing itself. The rest of this page explains what each one really is, and the gap between them that nobody seems to have noticed.

How far apart have the two cost sources drifted?

About forty index points by 2025. Both are set to 2019 = 100 so you can read them against each other. The first pair of columns is the Cost vs. Value modeled job cost. The second is the BLS producer price index for the door itself.

Modeled job cost against producer prices, 2019 to 2025Two cost measures for garage doors, both indexed to 2019 equals 100, from 2019 to 2025. The Cost vs. Value report’s modeled job cost for a garage door replacement rises from 100 to 129. The Bureau of Labor Statistics producer price index for metal doors, excluding storm doors, rises from 100 to 169 over the same period — a gap of about forty index points. The factory-gate price of the product has risen far faster than the modeled cost of the job, which means the modeled cost is not tracking the price of the door.Index, 2019 = 100100120140160180201920202021202220232024202540-point gapPPI, metal doorsCvV job costModeled job cost against producer prices, 2019 to 2025Two cost measures for garage doors, both indexed to 2019 equals 100, from 2019 to 2025. The Cost vs. Value report’s modeled job cost for a garage door replacement rises from 100 to 129. The Bureau of Labor Statistics producer price index for metal doors, excluding storm doors, rises from 100 to 169 over the same period — a gap of about forty index points. The factory-gate price of the product has risen far faster than the modeled cost of the job, which means the modeled cost is not tracking the price of the door.Index, 2019 = 1001001401802019202120232025PPI, metal doorsCvV job costA 40-point gap by 2025
The solid line is what manufacturers charge for metal doors. The broken line is the modeled cost of the whole job. They split in 2021 and never come back together. HyreGarage computation from Cost vs. Value editions 2019–2025 (Internet Archive snapshots of jlconline.com) and BLS series PCU3323213323211, both retrieved 2026-09-06.
YearCvV job costIndexedPPI, metal doorsIndexed
2019$3,611100267.6100
2020$3,695102270.8101
2021$3,907108316.6118
2022$4,041112402.8151
2023$4,302119415.6155
2024$4,513125423.1158
2025$4,672129452.3169
2019 → 2025+29.4%+69.0%

Cost vs. Value national job cost per edition, via Internet Archive snapshots. BLS PPI: HyreGarage yearly averages of monthly series PCU3323213323211, “Metal window and door mfg-Metal doors (except storm doors)”, base June 1983 = 100, public BLS API. Latest point at retrieval: July 2026, 486.595, or 81.8 percent above the 2019 average.

What does the forty-point gap mean?

It means at least one of the two figures is not tracking the other, and we cannot tell from outside which explanation is right. The two lines move together through 2020 and split sharply from 2021. By 2025 the producer price index sits about forty points above the modeled job cost on the same base.

The harmless explanation is the mix of costs. A replacement is not only a door. It is labor, hardware, track, springs, removal, disposal and overhead, and the door is one part of the total.

If labor and overhead rose more slowly than steel over this period, which is plausible, the total would rise more slowly than the steel part. That is exactly what we see. On this reading both series are right. They just measure different baskets.

The uncomfortable explanation is model drift. Cost vs. Value starts from a 2019 baseline and applies weighted index inputs. A model built that way can drift away from its market if the weights stop matching the job. The published method does not disclose the weights.

Nothing published would reveal that drift if it had happened. The model is not checked against real prices, because there are none to check against.

HyreGarage analysis: we lean slightly toward the cost-mix explanation. It needs no error and predicts the shape we see. But a popular cost figure in a field with no real price data cannot be checked. Hold it loosely.

The report’s openness about its method is what makes this check possible at all.

One more point. The job cost feeds the return-on-investment ratio the same report is famous for. A cost figure that runs low would push that ratio up. That is a reason to look at the two together. Our garage door ROI study covers the other half.

What changes the price of a garage door replacement?

Eight things separate a cheap quote from an expensive one for the same opening. We will not give you a price, so here are the parts instead. A quote that does not state them cannot be compared with another.

Line itemWhy it moves the price
Door constructionSingle-layer steel, two-layer with insulation, or three-layer sandwich. The biggest single driver of price, and the one most often missing from a quote.
Gauge and finishSteel thickness, whether the skin is embossed or flush, factory finish against paint-grade. Affects dent resistance and price independently of insulation.
Spring cycle ratingA 10,000-cycle spring is standard. Higher ratings mean longer, thicker springs that cost more. Two quotes with different ratings are not the same job.
Wind and impact ratingIn a wind-borne debris region, whether the door carries pressure rating alone or impact rating too. This is a material price difference and a code question, not a preference.
Opener: reuse or replaceWhether the existing opener is being kept, and whether it is compatible and compliant. In California, replacing the door forces the opener question by statute.
Track and hardwareStandard lift, low headroom, high lift or vertical. Determined by the building, not chosen, and it changes the hardware package.
Removal and disposalTaking the old door away. Frequently omitted from the cheapest quote and added afterwards.
Labor and accessRegional labor rates, and whether the opening is straightforward. This is the component the national models estimate and your quote actually prices.

HyreGarage specification of the job, not a price list. No line has a cost, because we hold no sourced figure for one. The two most often left off are door construction and spring cycle rating. They are also two of the three biggest price drivers.

How do you get a price for your own door?

Get three quotes on the same written scope. The national figure cannot do this for you. Writing the scope takes about ten minutes.

01
Write the scope before you call anyone

Include door construction (single-layer, two-layer insulated, three-layer sandwich), spring cycle rating, whether the opener is being replaced, and whether removal and disposal are included. Send the same text to every company.

02
Find out whether a wind or impact rating applies

If your lot is in a wind-borne debris region, this is a code question, not a preference. It makes a real price difference. Ask your building department in writing for the design wind speed and code edition. Our wind rating tool can help.

03
Ask what track setup your opening needs

Standard lift, low headroom, high lift or vertical is set by the building. It is not a choice. A quote that has not checked it may change after the site visit.

04
Get the spring cycle rating in writing

“New springs” is not a specification. The standard spring is rated for 10,000 cycles. Higher ratings cost more and last longer in a busy household. Two quotes with different ratings are quoting different jobs. Spring work is always for a professional.

05
Ask what happens to the old door

Removal and disposal is a real cost. It is often missing from the lowest quote and then shows up on the final invoice.

06
Compare the scope first, then the price

HyreGarage analysis: a $1,000 gap between quotes is usually a difference in what is being supplied, not in profit margin. Settle the specification first and the gap often disappears. Our quote checker runs the checks.

What does each cost source actually measure?

Job cost (Cost vs. Value)
A modeled national cost for a defined project. It is built from a BLS/BEA price index set to 2019, with BLS installer wage data, and made local through Verisk’s XactRemodel. It is not an average of quoted or paid prices.
PPI (producer price index)
A BLS measure of the prices U.S. makers receive. Series PCU3323213323211 covers “Metal doors (except storm doors)” at the factory, with no installation, hardware, removal or labor.
XactRemodel
Verisk’s commercial remodeling cost estimator, named in the Cost vs. Value method as the source of local cost variation. It is proprietary and its inputs are not public. That limits how far anyone can check the cost side.
Declared valuation
The value of work stated on a permit application. It appears in city permit records and is often mistaken for a price. It is neither a quote nor an invoice.
Door construction
Single-layer steel, two-layer with insulation, or three-layer sandwich. It is the biggest single driver of a door’s price, and the detail most often missing from a quote.
Cycle rating
The number of open-and-close cycles a spring is made to deliver. 10,000 is standard, and higher ratings are available. It changes both price and service life, so it belongs on the quote.

What could we not find?

The live Cost vs. Value report. jlconline.com returned HTTP 403 to every request from our environment. So every figure here comes from Internet Archive snapshots. Archived pages can be incomplete. Check these numbers against the live report before acting on them.

Regional and metro cost figures. The report covers 119 markets and nine regions, which is what would make a cost page useful. The archived copies we could reach had the national table only.

So nothing regional appears here. A national average is the least useful form of the figure for a job whose price is driven by local labor. Our garage door labor cost by metro study looks at the regional side.

BLS wage data. bls.gov data files returned HTTP 403 to us, so there is no labor-rate part to this analysis. Even with access it would be limited. The federal job classification has no garage-door-specific occupation, so any wage figure would be a stand-in from carpentry or general maintenance.

Any real price paid. This is the gap that shapes the page. We wanted to compare the modeled figure with something real: quotes, invoices or permit valuations at scale. None is public. That is why we cannot settle which of the two published series is closer to the truth.

And one thing we chose not to do: publish a range. It would have been easy to take the modeled figure, widen it and present “$X to $Y” as our estimate. It would spread and get quoted, and it would be built on nothing.

Questions

How much does a garage door replacement cost?
No one knows for sure, because no dataset records what Americans pay. The most quoted number is the Cost vs. Value report’s $4,672 national job cost for 2025. Its own method says it is modeled from BLS and BEA price indexes set to 2019, with local variation from Verisk’s XactRemodel. It is not an average of invoices.
Is the $4,672 garage door cost figure accurate?
It is correctly produced, but it is a model, not a record of prices paid. There is also a reason to hold it loosely. By our math, it rose 29.4 percent from 2019 to 2025, while the BLS producer price index for metal doors rose 69.0 percent. That is a forty-point gap on a shared base.
Why do garage door quotes vary so much?
Because the quotes usually describe different jobs. Door construction (single-layer steel versus three-layer sandwich) is the biggest driver and often goes unstated. Then add spring cycle rating, any wind or impact rating, opener replacement, track setup, and removal and disposal. A big gap between quotes is usually a specification difference.
What is the BLS producer price index for garage doors?
There is no garage-door-only series. The closest is PCU3323213323211, “Metal doors (except storm doors)”, base June 1983, free from the BLS API. By our yearly averages it went from 267.6 in 2019 to 452.3 in 2025, and 486.595 in July 2026. It is a factory price with no installation.
Have garage doors gotten more expensive?
Yes, sharply at the factory. Producer prices for metal doors rose 81.8 percent from the 2019 average to July 2026. The modeled cost of the whole job rose much less, 29.4 percent from 2019 to 2025. They cannot both describe the same thing, and neither records what anyone paid.
What should a garage door quote include?
Eight things: door construction, gauge and finish, spring cycle rating, any wind or impact rating the code requires, whether the opener is replaced, track setup, removal and disposal, and labor. The two most often missing are door construction and spring cycle rating, which are also two of the three biggest price drivers.
Does a permit record show what a garage door cost?
No. A permit application records a declared valuation, a figure stated for the value of the work. It is neither a quote nor an invoice. It is often mistaken for a price in home improvement cost studies, and it should not be.
Why is there no federal data on garage door prices?
Because the sale leaves no public record. A home improvement purchase is not registered anywhere, unlike a house sale. The BLS producer price program measures the product at the factory, not the installed job. And no household survey asks: the American Housing Survey has no garage door item at all.
Should I choose the cheapest garage door quote?
Only after you confirm the quotes describe the same job, which they usually do not. Settle the specification first: construction, spring rating, opener, disposal. The gap often narrows sharply. A cheaper quote for a single-layer door with a 10,000-cycle spring and no disposal is not a better price for your job.
Can I reproduce the figures on this page?
Yes. The producer price series is PCU3323213323211, free from the BLS public API v2 with no key; take yearly averages of the monthly index. The Cost vs. Value figures come from each edition’s national table at jlconline.com. We read them from Internet Archive snapshots because the live site refused us, so confirm them there.

Written and audited by

HyreGarage Research Desk

Primary-source research, data analysis and fact checking

We are not a garage door company. We read the agency file, the code record, the standards document or the public register ourselves, compute the figure from it, and publish it with the source and the date we retrieved it.

Where a number cannot be traced to a primary source, we publish the shorter page and say what we could not verify. Our own company records cover ten states; nothing national is ever derived from them.

10
states our own company records cover — and the limit of any claim made from them
3,901
garage door companies in the store
457
license records verified against a state board
0
national claims made from a ten-state store

How this desk works

  • Primary sources only. Injury counts come from CPSC. Housing counts come from the Census file, not from a summary of it. Code history comes from the building commission that adopted the code. We do not cite an article that cites a source; we retrieve the source and do the arithmetic ourselves.
  • Every figure carries its retrieval date. Registers change, datasets are revised and codes are amended. A number without the date it was read cannot be checked, so every study states one.
  • Fact, calculation and analysis are labeled apart. A quote is a quote, a HyreGarage computation says so, and an interpretation says “HyreGarage analysis”. Presenting our reading of a dataset as something the agency stated would be the easiest way to lose the only thing this desk is for.
  • Limitations go above the fold. If a figure is an upper bound, a bracket, or an association rather than a cause, that is said before the figure is quoted rather than in a footnote underneath it.
  • No DIY instructions for spring, cable or track work. Those components hold enough stored energy to cause serious injury, and CPSC records the consequences. We describe what has failed and what a competent repair involves; we do not tell you how to do it.

Data as of Cost vs. Value 2019-2025 editions and BLS series PCU3323213323211, retrieved 2026-09-06. Authorship on this site is organizational: the analysis belongs to the desk rather than to a named individual, and we do not publish credentials we do not hold.

Our editorial policy sets out how we source, date and correct what we publish.

Sources & retrieval dates

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — PPI series PCU3323213323211, Metal doors (except storm doors), Industry “Metal window and door mfg”, product line “Metal doors (except storm doors)”, base June 1983 = 100, not seasonally adjusted, from the free BLS API v2. HyreGarage yearly averages: 2019 267.6, 2020 270.8, 2021 316.6, 2022 402.8, 2023 415.6, 2024 423.1, 2025 452.3; July 2026 486.595. Factory price: no installation, hardware, removal or labor. Retrieved 2026-09-06.
Cost vs. Value — national job cost for Garage Door Replacement, editions 2019–2025, and the 2025 methodology, Job cost: 2019 $3,611; 2020 $3,695; 2021 $3,907; 2022 $4,041; 2023 $4,302; 2024 $4,513; 2025 $4,672. Read from Internet Archive snapshots of jlconline.com; the live site returned HTTP 403 to our environment. The 2025 methodology, published September 18, 2025, is quoted in the next entry. Retrieved 2026-09-06.
Cost vs. Value 2025 methodology — quoted, The team “first set a baseline cost by creating a price index for each project category” from BLS CPI and PPI data and the BEA’s PCE index. It used “BLS data to account for changes in average wages for installers from 2019 to now”. The Verisk part is quoted in the next entry. Retrieved 2026-09-06.
Verisk — XactRemodel, The Cost vs. Value team “partnered with Verisk” who “provided us with building cost data for each of the 28 remodeling projects drawn from XactRemodel”. XactRemodel is proprietary; its inputs and models are not public. That is the main limit on checking the cost side of the report. Retrieved 2026-09-06.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — OEWS wage tables, NOT RETRIEVED, Recorded as a negative result. On 2026-09-06, bls.gov returned HTTP 403 to our requests for the OEWS national data files, so no labor-rate analysis appears here. The federal job classification also has no garage-door-specific occupation, so any wage figure would be a stand-in from carpentry or general maintenance. Retrieved 2026-09-06.

Ready to compare quotes properly?

Send every company the same written scope: construction, spring cycle rating, opener, track and disposal. Then the prices become comparable. Matching is still being built, so nothing goes to a company unless you agree.

Find a Garage Door Professional Open the cost calculator

HyreGarage is not a garage door company and does not perform, supervise or warrant garage door work. This page publishes no price estimate for any product or job, on purpose: no dataset of prices paid exists to base one on.