HyreGarage

Research study

Garage door recalls: the full record

Every recall the federal database returns for garage products, not just the notable ones. Four of the eight turn out not to be doors.

Updated September 2026 · Data as of CPSC SaferProducts API recall records, queried 2026-09-06

Written by HyreGarage Research Desk Primary-source research and data analysis

Audited by HyreGarage Research Desk Query reproducibility and retrieval-date audit

8 recalls in total, of which only 4 are doors or openers CPSC SaferProducts API, deduplicated by recall number.
96,400 units in the largest recall, a secondary entrapment protection failure CPSC recall 23725, February 9, 2023.
73 of 77 reported incidents in the whole record are storage racks falling HyreGarage sum of incident counts in the recall records.

The finding

The CPSC recall database holds eight garage-related recalls from 1991 to 2023, and only four are garage doors or openers. The largest is Chamberlain’s February 2023 LiftMaster myQ control panel recall, about 96,400 U.S. units, for a safety-sensor failure. Of 77 reported incidents across all eight, 73 are overhead storage racks falling, not doors.

What did we find?

Eight recalls. Four of them are garage doors or openers. We searched the CPSC SaferProducts recall API three ways by product name and removed duplicates by recall number. The results run from 1991 to 2023.

The four that are not doors are two garage heaters and two overhead storage racks. We publish them instead of quietly dropping them, because that result is a finding too.

The largest recall is a failure of the safety system federal law created. Chamberlain’s LiftMaster myQ control panels, February 2023, covered about 96,400 U.S. units. That is more than every other recall here combined.

CPSC states the hazard as: “The control panel’s secondary entrapment protection system can fail causing the garage door to close even with an obstruction present, posing an entrapment hazard.” Secondary entrapment protection (a second, independent way to detect something under the door) has been federally required since January 1, 1993.

Most incidents come from storage racks, not doors. The eight records carry 77 reported incidents. 73 of them are overhead storage racks falling from garage ceilings. Across 112,400 recalled door and opener units, CPSC records four incidents and no injuries.

How should you read a recall record?

A list like this is easy to over-read in either direction. Here are the limits first.

A recall is a regulatory action, not a measure of risk.

It records that a defect was found and a fix agreed. The number of recalls is not a count of failures. Few recalls is not proof of safety.

Incident counts are what the firm reported.

When CPSC writes “55 reports of the racks falling”, those are reports that reached the firm or the Commission. They are a minimum, not a measure of what happened.

We could not reach NEISS.

cpsc.gov returned HTTP 403 to every request from our environment. The SaferProducts REST API is a separate address and answered normally. That is why this list exists and why it has no injury analysis. Our garage door injuries study covers what injury data we could find.

We searched by product name.

We searched “garage”, “garage door” and “garage door opener” and removed duplicates. A recall without any of those words in its product name would not appear. Searching by category would be stronger: the door and opener records carry CategoryID 1965, “Garage Doors/Openers”.

The 1991 record gives no unit count.

So it is left out of the units chart and every total. We have not estimated it. That makes every total on this page a minimum.

Recall fixes do not expire.

If you own an affected product, the free fix is still available, however long ago the recall was announced. That is the practical reason to read the table.

What do eight recalls in 35 years tell you?

They tell you factory defects in garage doors have been rare, but not that installed doors are safe. The record is very short. Garage doors sit on tens of millions of American homes, under a federal safety standard since 1993. Yet the database returns eight results, and half are not doors.

HyreGarage analysis: there are two fair readings, and they do not conflict. First, the entrapment protection rule has worked well on products leaving the factory. It is old, specific and has been amended four times. If openers were shipping with faulty safety systems at scale, the recall record would show it. It does not.

Second, a recall can only see certain problems. It covers a defect present at manufacture, found after sale and serious enough for a national fix. It cannot see an opener installed wrongly, a sensor knocked out of line years later, a spring fitted to the wrong door, or a worn-out part nobody tracked.

Those are how garage doors fail in real use, and none of them is a recall matter. Our photo-eye sensor failures study looks at one of them.

The 1997 Chamberlain recall sits in between. It covered about 6,000 Sears Craftsman openers in Puerto Rico “that were not installed by a Sears authorized installer.” CPSC wrote that “[i]f installed improperly, the garage door openers’ safety reversal system may not operate properly.”

So the defect was not in the product. It was in how the product was installed. It is the only recall in this record that crosses that line.

Every garage recall, in date order

The table below is the complete CPSC search result for garage recalls, including the four that are not doors. Hazard wording, unit counts and incident counts are quoted from the CPSC records.

Units covered by each garage-related CPSC recallUnits covered by every garage-related recall in the CPSC database with a stated unit count, 1997 to 2023. 1997 Chamberlain, 6,000 units, a garage door or opener; 2011 Lennox, 440 units, another garage product; 2014 Genie, 10,000 units, a garage door or opener; 2019 H.E., 8,500 units, another garage product; 2022 Eagle, 12,800 units, another garage product; 2022 Loctek, 17,500 units, another garage product; 2023 Chamberlain, 96,400 units, a garage door or opener. The 2023 Chamberlain LiftMaster control panel recall, at about 96,400 units, is larger than every other recall in the record combined. The 1991 Stanley recall is excluded from this chart because its record states no unit count.US units0k25k50k75k100k1997 Chamberlain6,0002011 Lennox4402014 Genie10,0002019 H.E.8,5002022 Eagle12,8002022 Loctek17,5002023 Chamberlain96,400Garage doors and openersOther products that live in a garageUnits covered by each garage-related CPSC recallUnits covered by every garage-related recall in the CPSC database with a stated unit count, 1997 to 2023. 1997 Chamberlain, 6,000 units, a garage door or opener; 2011 Lennox, 440 units, another garage product; 2014 Genie, 10,000 units, a garage door or opener; 2019 H.E., 8,500 units, another garage product; 2022 Eagle, 12,800 units, another garage product; 2022 Loctek, 17,500 units, another garage product; 2023 Chamberlain, 96,400 units, a garage door or opener. The 2023 Chamberlain LiftMaster control panel recall, at about 96,400 units, is larger than every other recall in the record combined. The 1991 Stanley recall is excluded from this chart because its record states no unit count.US units per recall0k50k100k1997 Chamberlain6,0002011 Lennox4402014 Genie10,0002019 H.E.8,5002022 Eagle12,8002022 Loctek17,5002023 Chamberlain96,400Garage doors and openersOther products kept in a garage
Units covered, where the record gives a count. The 2023 Chamberlain control panel recall dwarfs everything else. The two gray bars just above it are storage racks, and the 2011 and 2019 gray bars are garage heaters. None of the four is a door. HyreGarage compilation from the CPSC SaferProducts REST API, retrieved 2026-09-06. The 1991 Stanley recall states no unit count and is not charted.
DateRecall #FirmProductHazardUS unitsReported incidents
April 19, 199191059Stanley Electronics Division, The Stanley WorksStanley and Fimbel garage door opener circuit boardsEntrapmentnot stated in the recordnot stated
May 3, 199797116The Chamberlain Group Inc.Sears Craftsman openers on swinging or sliding doors, Puerto RicoEntrapmentabout 6,000not stated
April 14, 201111197Lennox Industries Inc.Garage heatersFireabout 4400
February 25, 201414114GMI Holdings, Inc., dba The Genie CompanyGenie PowerMax and Genie Pro TriloG screw drive openersFireabout 10,000 US (8,000 Canada)4
June 21, 201919140H.E. Industrial (manufactured by Zhilang Electrical Co., Ltd., China)Electric garage heatersFireabout 8,5000
April 21, 202222742Eagle Industrial Group (SafeRacks / Monsterrax)Overhead garage storage racksImpact injuryabout 12,80055
June 23, 202222171Loctek (FLEXIMOUNTS)Overhead garage storage racksImpact injuryabout 17,50018
February 9, 202323725Grupo Chamberlain S. de R.L. de C.V. (LiftMaster)LiftMaster myQ garage door control panelsEntrapment — secondary protection failureabout 96,400 US (19,300 Canada)not stated

Recall numbers 91059, 97116, 11197, 14114, 19140, 22742, 22171 and 23725, retrieved 2026-09-06. Door and opener recalls: 112,400 stated U.S. units. Other garage products: 39,240. Total: 151,640, a minimum, since the 1991 record gives no count. Incidents are reports that reached the firm or the Commission.

What does each recall record say?

Quotes come from the CPSC recall records. Where a record gives an injury or incident count, we show it.

April 19, 1991 — Stanley Electronics Division

“the door may open or close without warning. This condition renders the automatic reversal safety feature inoperable. As a result, when the door closes, it will not reverse as intended upon striking a person or object.”

Units: not stated in the record. Injuries: not stated

May 3, 1997 — The Chamberlain Group Inc.

Openers “used on swinging or sliding garage doors in Puerto Rico that were not installed by a Sears authorized installer. If installed improperly, the garage door openers’ safety reversal system may not operate properly.”

Units: about 6,000. Injuries: not stated

April 14, 2011 — Lennox Industries Inc. (not a door)

“Some heaters were manufactured without a required flame rollout switch, which is a back-up device that shuts down the heater in the event of a heater failure. This poses a fire hazard.”

Units: about 440. Injuries: None reported.

February 25, 2014 — GMI Holdings

“The control board can overheat, posing a fire hazard.” CPSC records four reports of the control board overheating.

Units: about 10,000 US (8,000 Canada). Injuries: No injuries have been reported.

June 21, 2019 — H.E. Industrial (not a door)

“The heating element can overheat, posing a fire hazard.”

Units: about 8,500. Injuries: None reported in the United States.

April 21, 2022 — Eagle Industrial Group (not a door)

“The hex bolts in the overhead garage storage racks can be defective, causing the rack to collapse from the ceiling, posing an impact injury hazard.” 55 reports of the racks falling.

Units: about 12,800. Injuries: One report of an injury — “the corners of a ceiling mounted rack fell and bruised and cut a consumer’s face.”

June 23, 2022 — Loctek (not a door)

“One of the U-shaped buckles on the supporting cables can fail, posing an impact injury hazard to the user or bystander if the rack falls.” 18 reports of buckles failing and racks falling from the garage ceiling.

Units: about 17,500. Injuries: No injuries have been reported.

February 9, 2023 — Grupo Chamberlain S. de R.L. de C.V.

“The control panel’s secondary entrapment protection system can fail causing the garage door to close even with an obstruction present, posing an entrapment hazard.”

Units: about 96,400 US (19,300 Canada). Injuries: None reported in the U.S.

Storage racks, not doors, are what has been falling on people

Two recalls in 2022, ten weeks apart, cover overhead garage storage racks. These are the steel platforms people bolt to the garage ceiling to get boxes off the floor. Together they cover about 30,300 units and 73 reports of racks falling.

SafeRacks/Monsterrax, April 2022, about 12,800 units: “The hex bolts in the overhead garage storage racks can be defective, causing the rack to collapse from the ceiling, posing an impact injury hazard.”

CPSC records 55 reports of those racks falling, “including one report of an injury where the corners of a ceiling mounted rack fell and bruised and cut a consumer’s face.”

Loctek FLEXIMOUNTS, June 2022, about 17,500 units: “One of the U-shaped buckles on the supporting cables can fail, posing an impact injury hazard to the user or bystander if the rack falls.” There were 18 reports of buckles failing and racks falling, and no injuries reported.

HyreGarage analysis: compare that with the door side of the record. Across 112,400 recalled door and opener units, the records give four incidents (Genie control boards overheating) and no injuries. Every reported injury in this whole list is a storage rack.

That does not prove racks are riskier than doors. They are different products, used by different people, failing in different ways, and reported differently. 73 reports against 4 says as much about reporting as about failure. A fallen rack is obvious and gets a complaint. An opener that fails to reverse may never get one.

What it does show is a gap between attention and evidence. People think hard about garage door safety and hardly at all about the shelf above the car. In the one federal dataset that records both, the shelf has the incidents and the injury.

If you have an overhead rack, checking its model against these two recalls takes five minutes. That is time better spent than most garage safety advice. In both cases the fix is free and does not expire.

How do you check whether you own a recalled product?

Read the label and compare it with the records below. These five are the ones still worth checking at home. Recall fixes do not expire.

01
LiftMaster myQ wall control panels, made March–October 2022

The manufacture date (MM/YY), model number and UPC are on a label on the back of the panel. About 96,400 U.S. units. Chamberlain’s fix is a free repair kit with a replacement panel and installation instructions. CPSC records that the firm was contacting known buyers directly.

02
SafeRacks or Monsterrax overhead racks bought Sept–Dec 2021

Sold online at Costco.com, amazon.com, saferacks.com, monsterrax.com and elsewhere for about $140. CPSC’s instruction is direct: “immediately unload all items from the racks and contact SafeRacks/Monsterrax to receive free replacement bolts.”

03
FLEXIMOUNTS overhead racks bought Oct 2020 – April 2022

Sold at amazon.com, fleximounts.com, wayfair.com, ebay.com, walmart.com, homedepot.com and Home Depot stores for about $230. Again, unload the rack first. Then contact the firm for a free repair kit that adds extra support.

04
Genie PowerMax or Genie Pro TriloG screw drive openers

Models ending 1200 and 1500, sold August 2011 – October 2012 for about $250. The serial number is on a label on the side opposite the light, and only certain serial prefixes are affected. The fix is a free repair kit with a new control board.

05
Electric garage heaters from Menards or Northern Tool, 2014–2019

H.E. Industrial units, about 8,500, sold for around $100. “The heating element can overheat.” A full refund is available. Check if you have a plug-in garage heater of uncertain age.

06
Then make sure you hear about the next one

CPSC publishes recalls all the time, and the SaferProducts database is public and searchable. If you own an overhead rack or a recent opener, checking once a year costs nothing. Our opener selector can help if you are replacing an opener anyway.

What do the recall terms mean?

Recall
A fix program agreed between a firm and CPSC after a defect is found. It records regulatory action, not how often something fails. No recall is not evidence of safety.
Recall alert
The label CPSC gave two records here: the 2022 SafeRacks and 2023 Chamberlain entries. It usually means the firm has already contacted known buyers directly. That changes how the notice goes out, not what the fix is.
Secondary entrapment protection
A second, independent way for an opener to detect something under the door, required on openers made since January 1, 1993. It can be a photoelectric sensor, edge sensor, independent inherent sensor or equivalent. It is the subject of the largest recall in this record. See our pre-1993 openers study.
Reported incidents
Reports that reached the firm or the Commission. They are a minimum, not a measure of what happened, and depend heavily on how noticeable a failure is.
CategoryID 1965
The CPSC product category “Garage Doors/Openers”, carried by the door and opener records here. Searching by category would be stronger than the product-name search we used, and we say so.
SaferProducts
CPSC’s public database of recalls and consumer incident reports. Its REST API needs no key. It answered our requests on the retrieval date when cpsc.gov itself did not.

What could we not find?

NEISS injury data. cpsc.gov returned HTTP 403 to every request from our environment on the retrieval date, so that data is missing. Every number here comes from a recall record. There is no injury estimate, rate or trend on this page, and the incident counts should not be read as one.

How many recalled products were actually fixed. It would show whether a recall worked, and it is not published. We cannot say how many of the 96,400 LiftMaster panels were replaced, or how many of the 30,300 racks were repaired. Firms generally need not publish these rates, and CPSC does not routinely.

The 1991 unit count. The Stanley record gives none, so it is left out of every total. Our unit figures are minimums, and we have not estimated the gap.

Whether the list is complete. We searched by product name using three terms. A recall whose product name used none of them would not appear. A category search on CategoryID 1965 would be more thorough. We publish the method so the limit is clear.

Canada. Two records give Canadian unit counts: 8,000 for the Genie recall and 19,300 for the Chamberlain one. Health Canada runs its own recall system, which we did not search. Our totals are U.S. units only.

One thing we chose not to do: rank manufacturers by recall count. There are four door recalls in 35 years, and two belong to the same firm through corporate history. Any ranking would be noise, and people would quote it as a safety comparison between brands. There is no basis for one.

Questions

How many garage door recalls have there been?
Four garage door or opener recalls are in the CPSC database: Stanley in April 1991 (entrapment), Chamberlain in Puerto Rico in May 1997 (entrapment), Genie in February 2014 (fire, from an overheating control board) and Chamberlain’s LiftMaster myQ control panels in February 2023 (entrapment). Four more “garage” recalls are heaters and storage racks.
What is the biggest garage door recall ever?
Chamberlain’s LiftMaster myQ control panels, February 9, 2023: about 96,400 units in the U.S. and 19,300 in Canada, made March to October 2022. It is larger than every other recall here combined. CPSC says the panel’s “secondary entrapment protection system can fail causing the garage door to close even with an obstruction present.”
Are garage door openers being recalled now?
The latest opener-related recall in the database is Chamberlain’s February 2023 LiftMaster control panel recall. Recall fixes do not expire. If you have a LiftMaster myQ wall control panel made March to October 2022, the free replacement is still available. Check the date, model number and UPC on the label on the back.
Have garage storage racks been recalled?
Yes, twice in 2022. SafeRacks/Monsterrax recalled about 12,800 racks in April 2022 after 55 reports of racks falling, including one injury where a rack “fell and bruised and cut a consumer’s face.” Loctek recalled about 17,500 FLEXIMOUNTS racks in June 2022 after 18 reports of cable buckles failing. Both fixes are free.
Does a small number of recalls mean garage doors are safe?
No, only that factory defects have rarely been widespread. Few recalls is a real finding about products leaving the factory. It says nothing about installation quality, sensors bypassed or knocked out of line, spring and counterbalance failures, or anything never reported. Recalls measure one thing well and everything else not at all.
How do I check whether my garage door opener has been recalled?
Search CPSC’s free public recall database and compare your model and serial number with the affected ranges. No account is needed. On a Genie PowerMax or Genie Pro TriloG, the serial number is on the side opposite the light. On a LiftMaster myQ control panel, the date, model and UPC are on the back.
What was the 1991 Stanley garage door opener recall about?
Faulty circuit boards in Stanley and Fimbel openers. CPSC’s record says “the door may open or close without warning. This condition renders the automatic reversal safety feature inoperable.” It is the oldest garage door recall in the database, and its record gives no unit count.
Why do garage heaters show up in a garage door recall search?
Because the database is searched by product name, and “garage heater” contains “garage”. Two of the eight results are heaters: Lennox in 2011 (about 440 units, made without a required flame rollout switch) and H.E. Industrial in 2019 (about 8,500 units, overheating element). We publish them rather than drop them silently.
Has anyone been injured by a recalled garage product?
One injury appears across all eight records, and it was a storage rack, not a door. In the SafeRacks/Monsterrax recall, “the corners of a ceiling mounted rack fell and bruised and cut a consumer’s face.” The door and opener recalls state no injuries or no injury information.
Can I reproduce this list?
Yes. Search CPSC’s SaferProducts REST API by product name for “garage”, “garage door” and “garage door opener”, then remove duplicates by recall number. No key is needed. You should get eight unique records. Searching by CategoryID 1965, “Garage Doors/Openers”, would be a stronger method.

Written and audited by

HyreGarage Research Desk

Primary-source research, data analysis and fact checking

We are not a garage door company. We read the agency file, the code record, the standards document or the public register ourselves, compute the figure from it, and publish it with the source and the date we retrieved it.

Where a number cannot be traced to a primary source, we publish the shorter page and say what we could not verify. Our own company records cover ten states; nothing national is ever derived from them.

10
states our own company records cover — and the limit of any claim made from them
3,901
garage door companies in the store
457
license records verified against a state board
0
national claims made from a ten-state store

How this desk works

  • Primary sources only. Injury counts come from CPSC. Housing counts come from the Census file, not from a summary of it. Code history comes from the building commission that adopted the code. We do not cite an article that cites a source; we retrieve the source and do the arithmetic ourselves.
  • Every figure carries its retrieval date. Registers change, datasets are revised and codes are amended. A number without the date it was read cannot be checked, so every study states one.
  • Fact, calculation and analysis are labeled apart. A quote is a quote, a HyreGarage computation says so, and an interpretation says “HyreGarage analysis”. Presenting our reading of a dataset as something the agency stated would be the easiest way to lose the only thing this desk is for.
  • Limitations go above the fold. If a figure is an upper bound, a bracket, or an association rather than a cause, that is said before the figure is quoted rather than in a footnote underneath it.
  • No DIY instructions for spring, cable or track work. Those components hold enough stored energy to cause serious injury, and CPSC records the consequences. We describe what has failed and what a competent repair involves; we do not tell you how to do it.

Data as of CPSC SaferProducts API recall records, queried 2026-09-06. Authorship on this site is organizational: the analysis belongs to the desk rather than to a named individual, and we do not publish credentials we do not hold. Our editorial policy sets out how we source, date and correct what we publish.

Sources & retrieval dates

U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission — SaferProducts recall API, Queried 2026-09-06 by product name for “garage”, “garage door” and “garage door opener”, deduplicated by recall number: eight unique recalls. Every unit count, hazard, incident count, injury statement, remedy and retailer detail here is quoted from those records. Recall numbers: 91059, 97116, 11197, 14114, 19140, 22742, 22171, 23725. Retrieved 2026-09-06.
CPSC recall 23725 — Chamberlain Group recalls LiftMaster myQ garage door control panels, February 9, 2023. About 96,400 U.S. and 19,300 Canadian units, made March–October 2022 by Grupo Chamberlain S. de R.L. de C.V. of Mexico, with an entrapment hazard. Sold at The Home Depot, Lowes, Menards and others: about $60 as an accessory, $500–$700 bundled. Injuries: “None reported in the U.S.” Fix: free replacement panel. Retrieved 2026-09-06.
CPSC recall 22742 — Eagle Industrial Group recalls SafeRacks/Monsterrax overhead garage storage racks, April 21, 2022, about 12,800 units. Hazard: defective hex bolts “causing the rack to collapse from the ceiling.” 55 reports of racks falling, including one facial injury. Sold online at Costco.com, amazon.com, saferacks.com, monsterrax.com and other sites, September–December 2021, for about $140. Remedy: free replacement bolts. Retrieved 2026-09-06.
CPSC recall 22171 — Loctek recalls FLEXIMOUNTS overhead garage storage racks, June 23, 2022, about 17,500 units. Hazard: a U-shaped buckle on the support cables “can fail.” 18 reports of buckles failing and racks falling; no injuries. Sold at amazon.com, fleximounts.com, wayfair.com, ebay.com, walmart.com, homedepot.com and Home Depot stores, October 2020–April 2022, for about $230. Remedy: free repair kit adding support. Retrieved 2026-09-06.
CPSC recall 14114 — Genie recalls garage door openers due to fire hazard, February 25, 2014. Genie PowerMax 1200/1500 and Genie Pro TriloG 1200/1500 screw drive openers, about 10,000 U.S. and 8,000 Canadian units. “The control board can overheat, posing a fire hazard.” Four reports, no injuries. At Canadian Tire, Carter Lumber, Lowes, Menards, The Home Depot and others, August 2011–October 2012, about $250. Fix: new control board. Retrieved 2026-09-06.
CPSC recall 91059 — Stanley garage door openers recalled due to entrapment hazard, April 19, 1991, release 91-059. Circuit boards in Stanley and Fimbel openers made by the Stanley Electronics Division of The Stanley Works, Novi, Michigan. The door “will not reverse as intended upon striking a person or object.” The record gives no unit count, so this recall is left out of every total on this page. Retrieved 2026-09-06.

Not sure what is on your ceiling?

Check the opener’s label and the rack’s brand against the records above. Both fixes are free and neither expires. If the door itself needs work, get the scope in writing. Matching is still being built, so nothing goes to a company unless you agree.

Find a Garage Door Professional Open the opener selector

HyreGarage is not a garage door company and does not perform, supervise or warrant garage door work. This page reproduces public CPSC recall records. It is not a safety assessment of any product or manufacturer, and it ranks no brand.