Research study
The horsepower on a garage door opener box is not horsepower
Not fraud. The makers say it themselves: the number on most openers is a comparison label, not a measured motor rating.
Written by HyreGarage Research Desk Primary-source research and data analysis
Audited by HyreGarage Research Desk Citation and retrieval-date audit
The finding
No standard defines or tests the horsepower number on a garage door opener.
DASMA has no data sheet on it, and the federal safety rule (16 CFR Part 1211) does not mention motor power.
Chamberlain’s own buyer’s guide says DC lift capacity “is typically not measured in horsepower.” Compare each model’s rated maximum door weight instead (sources retrieved 2026-09-06).
What did we find?
DASMA’s data sheet index has no sheet on horsepower. 16 CFR Part 1211 and the ANSI/CAN/UL 325 rules it includes cover entrapment protection, reversal force and the manual release. They do not cover motor power.
Chamberlain’s buyer’s guide says: “Lift capacity of DC motors is typically not measured in horsepower.” Genie uses the term “Horsepower Comparable (HPc)” for the same point. Only a true AC motor has a horsepower rating you can test.
Rated door weight is what predicts whether an opener can lift your door. Of three current Genie model pages, only one stated a maximum door weight. The other two, including a 2 HPc unit, did not.
Compare the stated maximum door weight and height for your exact model.
What is this page claiming, and what isn’t it?
The finding is narrow. Here are its limits before any number gets used.
Chamberlain and Genie both say, in their own technical wording, that the horsepower-style figure on a DC opener is a comparison, not a measurement. We are reporting a disclosed labeling habit, not exposing a hidden one.
Nothing here measures real torque, lifting force or duty cycle on a physical unit. Every figure is quoted from the maker’s own published material.
Chamberlain and Genie are the two largest US home opener brands. Between them they own most familiar sub-brands (LiftMaster, Craftsman, Genie). We did not survey every maker that sells in the United States.
Federal rules set how a general-purpose AC motor’s horsepower is tested (10 CFR 431 Subpart B). We found no document naming opener motors under that framework, and we do not claim one exists.
A true AC motor’s horsepower rating has a real mechanical-power definition behind it. The gap on this page is about how DC opener output gets translated into the same familiar unit for marketing.
Entrapment protection, reversal force and the manual release are set separately by 16 CFR 1211. They apply whatever the motor type or rated power. Horsepower and safety are two different questions.
How can the box say “1-1/4 HP” when the motor isn’t rated in horsepower?
Because most openers now use DC motors, and DC motors are rated in other units. Horsepower is a specific, testable thing: 550 foot-pounds of work per second, or 746 watts. A dynamometer (a machine that measures motor output) can verify it on an AC induction motor at a stated voltage and load.
A general-purpose AC motor sold on its own has federal test and labeling rules behind its nameplate. 10 CFR Part 431, Subpart B sets how those numbers are measured and certified for that category.
A garage door opener is not that category. It is a finished appliance with a task-specific motor sealed inside. Over roughly the last two decades, that motor has shifted from AC induction motors, which do have a normal HP rating, to DC motors.
DC motors are often speed-controlled, soft-start and battery-backup ready. Engineers rate them differently. DC motor output is normally given as torque or newtons of pull force, not horsepower.
That left a marketing problem. Shoppers had spent two decades comparing “1/2 HP vs. 3/4 HP”, and the new motors are not measured in horsepower at all.
The industry’s answer, on both major brands’ current material, was to keep the familiar unit as a comparison. The box states what AC horsepower the DC unit is “similar to” or “comparable to,” and the fine print says so.
HyreGarage analysis: Chamberlain’s “lift capacity similar to 1-1/4 or 3/4 horsepower AC motor” and Genie’s “Horsepower Comparable (HPc)” do the same job in different words. Both are honest once you find the disclosure.
But neither brand publishes a way to check the comparison independently. There is no bench test, no third-party certifier and no DASMA data sheet. The comparison rests on the maker’s own word about what “similar to” means.
That is not unusual for consumer products. Similar labeling gaps have drawn regulators elsewhere; vacuum cleaner “peak horsepower” claims are the best-known example. We found no sign that opener horsepower labels have drawn the same attention from the Federal Trade Commission, DASMA or UL. The gap seems simply unchallenged.
What do the makers actually publish next to the horsepower label?
Usually a disclaimer, and rarely a door-weight rating. Here are Chamberlain’s three “Lift Power” tiers and three current Genie model pages, with every engineering number each maker publishes beside the label.
| Brand | Marketed tier | What the maker’s own disclaimer says | Published max. door weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chamberlain | MAX Lift Power (“1-1/4 HPS equivalent”) | For comparison purposes only; lift capacity similar to 1-1/4 horsepower AC motor. Lift capacity of DC motors is typically not measured in horsepower. | Not stated on the buyer’s-guide page checked |
| Chamberlain | PLUS Lift Power (“3/4 HPS equivalent”) | Same disclaimer, applied to the 3/4 HPS-equivalent tier. | Not stated on the buyer’s-guide page checked |
| Chamberlain | MED Lift Power (“1/2 HPS equivalent”) | Same disclaimer, applied to the 1/2 HPS-equivalent tier. | Not stated on the buyer’s-guide page checked |
| Genie | Model 3055: “3/4 HPc” | “Horsepower Comparable (HPc) designates that this garage door opener meets Genie’s lifting force specification for the specific amount of the mentioned horsepower garage door openers.” | 500 lbs, up to 7 ft (8 ft with extension kit) |
| Genie | Signature Series: “2 HPc” | Same HPc definition, applied to the 2 HPc screw-drive tier. | Not stated on the product page checked |
| Genie | Model 2128: no HP figure given | Page says “DC motor with Soft Start & Stop control” and gives no horsepower or HPc figure at all. | Not stated on the product page checked |
Retrieved directly from each maker’s current site on 2026-09-06. This is a six-listing spot check of two brands, not a market survey. A different model, retailer listing or page revision may show the information differently.
Which rules do apply to an opener, and what do they cover?
Two sources govern a home opener. Neither one covers horsepower.
16 CFR Part 1211 and ANSI/CAN/UL 325
They cover entrapment protection (built-in and secondary), the maximum reversing force when the door hits something, and a red manual-release handle that works under a stated maximum hand force.
Since a 2016 revision, they also cover unattended-operation add-ons such as timer-to-close and phone control; our UL 325 timeline tracks it. Motor power is not one of the things this standard tests.
DASMA’s technical data sheet library
We reviewed the full published index: garage doors, rolling doors, operators and electronics, and high-performance doors. We opened several directly: U-factor and R-value at TDS #163, spring cycle life at #190, a general operator FAQ at #369, and the wind-load family at #152 through #178.
None covers horsepower, motor rating, or how to compare two openers’ lifting force.
10 CFR Part 431, Subpart B (background only)
This is where general-purpose AC motors get their federal horsepower test and labeling rules. We found no DOE document naming opener motors within this framework, and we do not claim they fall under it.
We cite it only to show that a real federal test system for AC motor horsepower exists elsewhere. That makes its absence for opener motors clearer.
What should you compare instead of the horsepower number?
The rated door weight and height for your exact model. You don’t need to distrust either brand, just read past the headline figure.
This number predicts whether the unit can lift your door. Our spot check found it is not always on the page with the horsepower figure. If a listing gives HP or HPc without a door-weight rating, ask the retailer or installer for the spec sheet.
A standard two-car steel door varies widely with insulation and build. An oversized, wood or heavily insulated door can be much heavier. The maker’s installation instructions or a trained technician can confirm it. We do not publish our own weight-estimating method.
Belt, chain and screw drive affect noise and upkeep, not lifting ability at a given rated output. A higher HP or HPc chain-drive unit is not automatically a better fit than a lower belt-drive one if door weight is what you need. Our opener selector walks through drive types.
Every compliant home opener must carry these, whatever its motor or power rating. This is the real safety floor, and it has nothing to do with horsepower.
Ask what the equivalence is based on. The current public material from Chamberlain and Genie that we reviewed points to no independent test standard. It is the maker’s own description.
What do these terms mean?
- Horsepower (HP)
- A unit of mechanical power: 550 foot-pounds per second, or 746 watts. It has a real, testable definition for a general-purpose AC motor. On many current opener boxes it is used loosely and does not carry that testable meaning.
- HPc / HPS
- “Horsepower Comparable” (Genie) or “horsepower similar” (general industry use, echoed as “HPS equivalent” in Chamberlain’s materials). By each maker’s own definition, a comparison to an AC horsepower figure, not a measurement of the DC motor.
- General-purpose electric motor
- Federal definition (10 CFR 431.12): a motor with standard ratings, usable for most general jobs. Covered by DOE horsepower test and labeling rules under 10 CFR Part 431, Subpart B.
- Definite-purpose / special-purpose electric motor
- Federal definitions (10 CFR 431.12) for motors built for a particular job rather than general use. We could not confirm opener motors are named in either category in DOE rules, and we do not claim they are.
- Rated door weight
- The heaviest door a specific opener model is designed to lift, stated by the maker for that model. This is the figure we suggest checking instead of horsepower.
- 16 CFR Part 1211
- The federal safety standard for automatic home garage door openers. It includes the entrapment-protection rules of ANSI/CAN/UL 325. It regulates safety, not motor power.
What couldn’t we verify?
No independent test of any opener’s lifting force. Everything here is the maker’s own published statement. We did not measure torque, sustained pull or duty cycle on a physical unit. We do not rank whose comparison is more accurate.
Only two brands checked. Chamberlain and Genie are the two largest US home opener makers and cover the best-known sub-brands at major retailers. We did not survey the full US market. Another maker’s labels may follow neither pattern.
No DOE, UL or DASMA document naming opener motors as “definite purpose” or “special purpose.” We cite the federal motor categories only as background on how AC horsepower is tested for other products. We looked for a source applying them to opener motors by name, found none, and claim none.
No FTC or regulatory action on this product. We found past FTC attention to horsepower-style labels on other appliances (shop vacuums are the usual example). We found nothing similar aimed at garage door openers, and we do not suggest an investigation is underway.
We also chose not to rank Chamberlain against Genie on honesty. Both state the comparison openly. The difference we found was how often a door-weight figure appeared on the pages we checked, not whether either brand admits the horsepower number is a comparison.
Questions
Does the horsepower on a garage door opener box mean anything?
What does “HPc” mean on a Genie garage door opener?
Is a 1-1/4 HP opener actually stronger than a 1/2 HP opener?
Is there a standard for garage door opener horsepower?
What should I compare instead of horsepower when buying an opener?
Why do DC openers use “comparable” horsepower instead of a real rating?
Does a higher horsepower or HPc rating mean a safer opener?
What is the difference between AC and DC garage door opener motors?
Can a 1/2 HP or 1/2 HPc opener handle a two-car garage door?
Who sets the rules for what an opener box can claim about its motor?
Written and audited by
HyreGarage Research Desk
Primary-source research, data analysis and fact checking
We are not a garage door company. We read the agency file, the code record, the standards document or the public register ourselves, compute the figure from it, and publish it with the source and the date we retrieved it.
Where a number cannot be traced to a primary source, we publish the shorter page and say what we could not verify. Our own company records cover ten states; nothing national is ever derived from them.
- 10
- states our own company records cover — and the limit of any claim made from them
- 3,901
- garage door companies in the store
- 457
- license records verified against a state board
- 0
- national claims made from a ten-state store
How this desk works
- Primary sources only. Injury counts come from CPSC. Housing counts come from the Census file, not from a summary of it. Code history comes from the building commission that adopted the code. We do not cite an article that cites a source; we retrieve the source and do the arithmetic ourselves.
- Every figure carries its retrieval date. Registers change, datasets are revised and codes are amended. A number without the date it was read cannot be checked, so every study states one.
- Fact, calculation and analysis are labeled apart. A quote is a quote, a HyreGarage computation says so, and an interpretation says “HyreGarage analysis”. Presenting our reading of a dataset as something the agency stated would be the easiest way to lose the only thing this desk is for.
- Limitations go above the fold. If a figure is an upper bound, a bracket, or an association rather than a cause, that is said before the figure is quoted rather than in a footnote underneath it.
- No DIY instructions for spring, cable or track work. Those components hold enough stored energy to cause serious injury, and CPSC records the consequences. We describe what has failed and what a competent repair involves; we do not tell you how to do it.
Data as of Chamberlain and Genie product literature, DASMA data sheets and 16 CFR Part 1211, retrieved 2026-09-06. Authorship on this site is organizational: the analysis belongs to the desk rather than to a named individual, and we do not publish credentials we do not hold.
Our editorial policy sets out how we source, date and correct what we publish.
Sources & retrieval dates
Sizing an opener for your door?
Ask each company for the model’s rated maximum door weight and height, not just its HP or HPc number. Get the drive type and UL 325 listing in writing.
HyreGarage is not a garage door company. We do not perform, supervise or warrant garage door work. This page compares makers’ published statements. It does not test any product and ranks no brand.